"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Back On The Road

________________

It was Friday. We had been travelling for eight days.
The wonders of Hampi and Mysore still floated in and out of my thoughts.
The diverse temples were almost merging into a single amorphous memory.
But our travels were not over.
It was time to get back on the road.

________________

Before setting out again, there is usually the small matter of re-packing to be dealt with:

________________

________________

________________

________________

My own packing skills show neither forethought nor patience.
Nowadays, I collect together what seems necessary, then leave my kind staff to do the rest.
A few minutes later, having compared my selection with what he thinks proper, Anu will invariably return with suggestions, such as:
“Papa, I think maybe you wanting some inner-wear*?”
 (*Indian English for underwear)

 ________________  

He is practically always right. My planning is well on the way to becoming reliably unreliable.


Perhaps I am better suited to observing life from the sidelines.
________________

2 responses

  1. Toffeeapple

    I abhor packing but I do admire the wood-pile on that tractor. ‘Inner-wear’ – I think I shall adopt that.

    May 23, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    • Yes, “inner-wear” seemed the most logical description, once I thought about it..

      May 23, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Leave a Reply

