"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Raring To Go

________________

Of course, 
it might have been wise to re-accustom myself to wearing shoes before embarking on this adventure.
Especially, when it’s a new pair of shoes..
________________

Today I wake in my Delhi hotel bedroom.
A beautifully spicy “chai masala” sits beside me.

My new walking shoes will not be needed today.
Our plane touched-down in Delhi just before midnight, to be greeted by gentle warmth (32 C), the pleasant absence of monsoon rains, and Ravindra, our driver for the next five days.

It seems I can inspect some of Delhi’s glorious historical sites in the familiar comfort of my Kerala “chappals”

________________ 

3 responses

  1. Toffeeapple

    That’ll larn ya! I didn’t know that Bata were still going, I haven’t seen them here for a long time. I’m looking forward to your posts about Delhi. If you want restaurant critiques, see what http://chefatlarge.in/ has to say.

    September 2, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    • Bata are still very big in Kerala,and probably in the rest of India too.
      The Delhi leg of our tour is decidedly whistle-stop! We are driving to Agra tomorrow. But thanks for the recommendations.
      On my last visit to Delhi, almost six years back, I ended up with a debilitating episode of “tourists trots” – something I never experience in Kerala. Today we ate at a restaurant recommended by our driver. I’m keeping my fingers firmly crossed: it’s far less stressful than clenching my buttocks!

      September 2, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  2. Toffeeapple

    I hope you won’t succumb this time.

    September 3, 2011 at 1:15 am

Leave a Reply

