"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

It’s the fort that counts..

________________

I had visited Delhi once before,
In January 2006, when I travelled to India for the first time.

That holiday was not my idea: I was more than a little averse to the plan.
But my sister was determined that she and her husband would go
And just as determined that I should accompany them.

It was an experience which changed my life.
But that is another story..

My earlier visit to Delhi coincided with Republic Day and the Red Fort had been closed to the public.

This time security was still prioritised:

But in a more relaxed fashion.
________________ 

Meanwhile Robin, my kind travel-buddy and helper, experienced and enjoyed Delhi and its Red Fort for the very first time.
________________

All pictures taken at the Red Fort, Delhi.

8 responses

  1. Great photos! India is so colorful.

    September 18, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    • India is pure colour!

      September 18, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  2. I’m always struck by the color that seems to leap from the photographs.

    And the two of the security guards are pretty cool, too.

    September 18, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    • I am still bowled over by the colour here, Glynn. Somehow, it’s incredibly life-enhancing..

      September 18, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  3. Toffeeapple

    I think that if I lived there I would be permanently bedazzled.

    A remarkable story, your reluctance to go there in the first place and to now live there permanently…

    September 19, 2011 at 12:01 am

    • I am permanently bedazzled. That’s the perfect description of my life here.
      Yes, after decades of complete indifference to this country, to end up permanently living here is something of a turnaround. If anyone had predicted my settling in Kerala, a place I had no intention of even visiting, I’d have dismissed the notion as nonsense.
      How little I knew myself! India’s colour, energy and generosity has given me so very much. “New lease on life” may be a clichéd phrase, but it’s certainly true of these years in India…

      September 19, 2011 at 7:30 am

  4. Pingback: Taj Redux? « Neither Use Nor Ornament

  5. Pingback: Taking A Closer Look « Neither Use Nor Ornament

Leave a Reply

