"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Home Cooking

For the last couple of years, while Shaji & Dalila take their well deserved day of rest, Anu my houseboy, Robin my good friend, and I have relied on Sri Krishna Café for our Sunday breakfast.
But Sri Krishna’s excellent chef is taking a couple of month’s leave, and its usually delicious fare has taken a distinct dive.

Step up young Anu!

This morning as dawn broke, having greeted me with my customary cup of chai masala,
Anu started preparing breakfast for the three of us.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fresh onion oothapams and coconut chutney, alongside some fish and mango curry and dahl leftovers from yesterday’s supper.
It was truly delicious.
Fanny would have been proud of him!
________________


Or possibly not..

4 responses

  1. I didn’t realise her story was such a sad one. I just vaguely remember the stage of her career where she was regarded as a figure of fun in her ballgown and heavy make up.

    December 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    • I actually watched that fateful programme in which the poor woman self destructed. It was obvious to anyone viewing that Fanny was antagonising the entire British public, and sure enough…
      What I didn’t realise was just how unconventional her life had been and how important clinging to apparent respectability must have been to her.

      December 18, 2011 at 3:22 pm

  2. Toffeeapple

    I would love to have someone cook that kind of breakfast for me.

    December 20, 2011 at 12:15 am

    • I never forget just how lucky I am.

      I’m beginning to realise it is Shaji, Dalila and Anu that my house-guests really come to see! Friends and family look on them with great affection – and a certain covetousness.. It might prove prescient to institute routine body-searches and luggage scans for my departing guests – just in case!

      December 20, 2011 at 8:04 am

Leave a Reply

