"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Form versus Function

I am not quite sure where I stand when balancing form with function in my home.
A couple of months back, when I bought a veena, it seemed I had decidedly plumped for ornamentation over practicality:
I cannot play the instrument and have left it a little late to learn.

The appeal was purely visual.

But my friend Robin kept fingering the veena’s strings,
and yesterday embarked on a course of classes.

Now I find my enjoyment of the veena is considerably enhanced by hearing someone play it.
A modest perfection of both form and function:
harmony achieved.
________________

8 responses

  1. Looks like a fun, but difficult instrument to learn. Sounds great though!

    December 19, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    • Sitting crossed-legged on the floor, then getting up again would be quite difficult enough!

      December 19, 2011 at 5:28 pm

  2. Toffeeapple

    I agree with your statement about cross legged and getting up…
    The instrument is much larger than I had anticipated, must make quite a statement.

    December 20, 2011 at 12:19 am

    • It seems good to have something other than the television as the focus of our hall!

      December 20, 2011 at 8:06 am

  3. I enjoy this post and the stories it tells.

    December 20, 2011 at 6:08 am

    • I find the countless small stories which have unfolded through my decision to live in India provide me with a continual sense of wonder and gentle excitement..

      December 20, 2011 at 8:16 am

  4. Can Robin play Twinkle Twinkle Little Star yet?

    December 20, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    • He was just practising the Western Octave on his last visit. But I am confident “Frère Jacques” is imminent..

      December 20, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Leave a Reply

