"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Our Daily Bread

For the duration of our stay in Ladakh, all the meals tasted remarkably good.
Whether their appeal was coloured by the many hours we spent outside, in the cool of high altitude, is difficult to judge.
But freshly baked, Ladakhi naan breads are pretty close to heaven!
________________

 

________________

Picture of a typical bakery taken in Leh, Ladakh.

9 responses

  1. S. Etole

    True nourishment for spirit, soul and body.

    May 13, 2012 at 4:04 am

    • And also very tasty!

      May 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

  2. Toffeeapple

    Gosh, that music took me right back to Abertillery! The bread looks superb.

    May 14, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    • Just a minute, while I “google” Abertillery..

      Ah, yes I see. That explains why you’d be less church than chapel!

      May 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      • Toffeeapple

        Indeed. The Ebeneezer Baptist chapel where I spent a great deal of time taking part in ‘Recitations’. It is now styled a church, but I’m not sure I like that.

        May 14, 2012 at 9:34 pm

        • I was brought up in a “bells and smells” tradition, but love the music which the British low church has given the world.

          Am not sure if I’d feel so comfortable with “fire and brimstone”, while teetotalism is something I just couldn’t cope with!

          May 14, 2012 at 9:46 pm

          • Toffeeapple

            Teetotalism? That’s the Methodists, not my lot! We like a bit of fun…
            I don’t recall any fire and brimstone either, our Pastor was a dear old softie.

            May 14, 2012 at 10:20 pm

            • Sorry!

              I was just showing my ignorance, and assumptions, about churches outside of the Catholic tradition..

              May 14, 2012 at 10:24 pm

            • Toffeeapple

              And I know nothing about C of E or Catholic Churches. Other than I once went to a Catholic Church and heard a little bell then thought – Ah, Tinkerbell. I am a Pagan at heart!

              May 14, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Leave a Reply

