"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Altitude Revisited

The extreme and mountainous terrain of Ladakh means that its road network is limited.
Like most visitors, we were based in Leh, and had to return there after every excursion into the wilder reaches of region.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And so, after our journey to the Nubra valley, we had to return to and re-climb the Khardung Pass.
________________

4 responses

  1. I think I’ve discovered the best way to climb a tall mountain — in a Land Rover.

    May 22, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    • Good grief!

      You mean there are other ways?!

      May 23, 2012 at 8:13 am

  2. Toffeeapple

    This post of yours has confirmed my view that I shall never again seek out snowy landscapes. I loved them as a child but now they restrict me. Are you at home yet? I do hope so.

    May 24, 2012 at 4:43 am

    • Snowy landscapes are fine – as long as you stay in a heated car, and have a good driver..

      Am I home? Home is wherever I build my igloo!

      May 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Leave a Reply

