"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

A Full House

Returning to the house after running errands,
I am often greeted by several pairs of unrecognised shoes outside my door.

It usually indicates the presence of one of the many squadrons of workers, who are summoned by Shaji from time to time.

Over the years, I have slowly grown used to teams of plumbers, electricians, carpenters, tilers, upholsterers or decorators suddenly swooping upon the house.

Now I know them all quite well.
But not quite well enough to identify them by their sandals..

________________

________________

Picture taken outside my front door.

10 responses

  1. I wish my teams would take their shoes off at the door. Do they all work barefoot or do they have indoor shoes with them?

    August 10, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    • Everyone, from honoured guests to itinerant workers, removes their shoes when entering a house – not to do so would be considered disrespectful to the host.

      No, the teams don’t carry indoor slippers – we all go bare-footed!

      August 10, 2012 at 2:09 pm

  2. I approve. But would also worry about nails, splinters and other sharp objects underfoot while work is in progress.

    August 10, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    • I know it sounds almost patronising to say so but the workforce here seem almost immune to such hazards. I think their soles and heels must be very toughened..

      I keep well clear of all dangers until invited to inspect progress – though curiosity leads me to occasionally sneak in during the quiet hours of darkness and see exactly what they’re up to!

      August 10, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  3. Toffeeapple

    What a beautiful entrance you have. In Sweden (and, possibly all of Scandinavia) one always removes shoes before entering a home.

    August 10, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    • It’s an eminently sensible custom!

      August 10, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      • Toffeeapple

        Indeed it is. I applies in my home too.

        August 13, 2012 at 12:07 am

        • Yes, but before allowing our guests to cross across the threshold I also have Anu hose them down!

          You can never be too sure…

          August 13, 2012 at 6:43 am

  4. S. Etole

    I like the red ones that look like they are climbing the steps.

    August 10, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    • I’m not sure who they belonged to. The white ones, I think, are Dalila’s..

      August 10, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

