"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Labours Of Love

SONY DSC

As our flock increased from a single female to a couple of laying hens and young rooster,
the four-year-old dilemma of what to do with our side-yard solved itself:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anu is digging up its unsightly concrete slabs to make way for a small kitchen-garden.
Whatever vegetables are considered easiest to grow will be planted out.
In this climate that will probably include cassava, beans, pineapple and more bananas.

The chickens run free from daybreak to dusk.
Much chicken-wire* will be required if we hope to harvest any produce.

“I did not become a vegetarian for my health, I did it for the health of the chickens.”
Isaac Bashevis Singer

_______________

* Having been born, raised and lived in London for almost fifty years, the now glaringly obvious relationship between chicken-wire and chickens comes as something of a revelation to me!
Pictures show Anu and Dalila in our side-yard.

7 responses

  1. Toffeeapple

    ” Having been born, raised and lived in London for almost fifty years, the now glaringly obvious relationship between chicken-wire and chickens comes as something of a revelation to me!”

    That did make me laugh! May we see pictures of your expanding flock at some point please? I have a deep love of chickens.

    March 4, 2013 at 12:50 am

    • It’s strange how you can use a term for decades and never question its origin. I wonder how many other phrases I similarly gloss-over..

      Will try to get a decent picture of the birds while they’re all facing forward – up until now I’ve only managed to capture images where one or other of them has its rear to the fore!

      March 4, 2013 at 7:54 am

  2. What would be their natural predator in your neck of the woods ? We have foxes everywhere to contend with and chicken wire doesn’t deter them unless it is deeply buried. Not that I have ever kept hens but maybe when I become a fully-fledged countrywoman it may happen. I have concealed in my comment two terms that I used without questioning their origins until now! Isn’t language fascinating? I must look up balaclava now. Your tailor will be flummoxed unless he can also knit. . .

    March 5, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    • Did you never study the Crimean War, young lady?!
      Regarding chicken predators, their main hazard whilst enclosed is from snakes..

      March 5, 2013 at 2:03 pm

  3. Nope.

    March 5, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    • I blame the parents!
      But, to remedy the situation, might I suggest this..

      March 6, 2013 at 7:26 am

  4. Pingback: In Hiding | Neither Use Nor Ornament

Leave a Reply

