"Wading neck deep in a swamp, your revolver is neither use nor ornament until you have had time to clean it" Mary H. Kingsley (1897)

Away Days: Retail Therapy?

SONY DSC

I did not enter any of the exclusive designer, shopping outlets.
My life on an NHS pension is perfectly comfortable,
but not outrageously so.

____________________

(The harmonies in “For all I want is you” still gets to me after all these decades..)

Picture taken in Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, Milan, the world’s oldest shopping arcade.

10 responses

  1. Toffeeapple

    I should not have entered any of those either. I have most of what I need already.

    June 2, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    • I think most of have by our our age, but spending isn’t always based on need – capitalism has created a global economy built on much less respectable motives!

      June 2, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      • Toffeeapple

        Which is why I still have some savings to spend on what I need…

        June 2, 2013 at 10:48 pm

        • Whilst I have no savings at all…
          What a wise woman you are!

          June 3, 2013 at 8:49 am

          • Toffeeapple

            But you DO so much more than I!

            June 3, 2013 at 6:44 pm

            • Partially because I’ve never really seen the point of saving. At this stage of life what exactly would I be saving for?
              My pension adequately covers my needs; my sons have good jobs; and I’m fortunate enough to own a modest bijou residence here in Kerala.
              Who knows how my health and mobility will be next year? It seems best to experience all I can as long as I can…

              June 3, 2013 at 8:07 pm

            • Toffeeapple

              I was brought up to save for any eventuality so, whilst I was working, that is what I did. Now that I am on a State Pension, I can no longer do so. I do regret my lack of mobility, now that I have enough money to travel.

              June 3, 2013 at 10:47 pm

            • Many, many years ago I watched a BBC documentary in which John Betjeman was interviewed.
              The presenter asked what he regretted about life and Betjeman’s answer was: “It’s not the things I’ve done which I regret, but the things I didn’t do..”
              That has always stayed with me.
              Like most of us, I have made painful mistakes which realistically I know I cannot “put right”. But I’m determined to never regret missing potentially enriching experiences which happen to come my way.

              June 3, 2013 at 11:14 pm

  2. S. Etole

    What an amazing sight.

    June 2, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    • It is quite stunning

      June 2, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

